Wheat Intolerance Testing | Allergy Test

One of the most common intolerances in the US is a wheat intolerance. A wheat intolerance occurs when your body doesn’t respond well to wheat proteins in your diet, and people who suffer from it may also suffer from a gluten intolerance. Unfortunately for those of us with a wheat intolerance, wheat can be present in places you wouldn’t necessarily expect it, such as salad dressings and deep-fried foods. Here at Allergy Test, we want to help you understand exactly what to look for when you’re out grocery shopping to help you avoid wheat.

Most commonly found in baked goods such as bread and pastries, wheat can also be present in flour and used as a thickening ingredient for soups and sauces. Here are some foods that you should be finding alternatives to:

Bread, pastries and baked goods

Rye bread is a great alternative to traditional bread, and there are lots of gluten-free alternatives to pastries and baked goods available in most grocery stores too.


Similar to bread and baked goods, you can find many gluten-free alternatives to your favorite cereals in most grocery stores. Do your research online and find out which are the best ones to look out for before you shop. Plus, you should also be aware that although porridge oats should be free from it, stray wheat and barley can be introduced during harvesting.


Pasta has taken on many forms in recent years, and now there are many wheat-free pasta’s on the market such as soybean, lentil and edamame pasta. Although some vary in texture to traditional pasta, when eaten with a sauce or baked into a dish with other ingredients, you won’t be able to tell the difference!

Sauces and condiments related to a Wheat Intolerance

Wherever you can, try making your own sauces and condiments from fresh to avoid being exposed to hidden ingredients. Batch make tomato pasta sauces using chopped tomatoes and herbs, make your own pesto in a pestle and mortar using basil, parmesan and pine nuts, and make your own salad dressings using olive oil, lemon and herbs.

When looking at the ingredients in products you’re buying, you will need to ensure you’re aware of all of the ‘other names’ wheat can go by, such as Bulgur, Flour (all purpose), Semolina, Spelt and Wheatgrass amongst many more, as it can often cause confusion when trying to avoid wheat. Wherever you can, make meals from scratch using fresh ingredients – but be sure to find other alternatives to carbohydrates in your diet, such as quinoa and corn.

If you need advice and guidance in eliminating wheat from your diet, our customer service team are available on Live Chat 24 hours a day, 5 days a week.